where can you go with a CFA?

This may be an unusual question to ask in a CFA forum but bear with me. Im wondering if a CFA is only looked highly upon by banks. The reason is that Im at a crossroads right now. I studied finance in university but then took the past three years off to teach English in Asia. Not quite a common route for a finance student I know but Ive had the time of my life over here. Long story short, its time to get back to reality and Ive been wondering if I should go the MBA route or the CFA route. I am open to working in different corporate environments, not only banking, thats where my question stems from. To be blunt, I have been out of the academic/financial loop for a while now but from what I can gather an MBA isnt going a long way these days. I am a native English speaker and have also learned Japanese so I would like to leverage these skills into a a fulfilling career, just not sure which route to take to get there. Sorry for my rambling but just looking to get some good advice here. Thanks

If you speak good japanese, definitely try leveraging that. As well. As to CFA vs MBA, thats an age old debate that stems back to the biblical times. I believe it is even mentioned several times in the Torah