Why Are There So Many Jerks In Fianance

Ok I work in IT and on the desk generating reports and sucking and processing data - I ve done this at a number of banks and without fail (even at GS) the people on the desk are on average and to a large extent total jerks!! They will claim stuff is crucial when its not - Send emails asking for explanations of why reports are not on time and not bother reading responses and generally not answer any questions you might have instead expecting you find out for yourself Is this normal in all IB’s??

I’ve also been in IT. I guess these guys see it as crucial even if you don’t, it might be differences in priority or that one of you (or both) don’t have the full picture. Some of these people might get, I don’t know, 300 e-mails a day… so that’s probably the simple explanation to why they might fail to read your response. You might want to check out http://www.cnvc.org/ - the techniques you learn there will help (read on on that site and you’ll see why this is so).

Jerks like money and they don’t care who they have to crawl over and stab to get to it. So, given that the field pays well, it attracts jerks. Those of us who aren’t jerks have to decide whether to deal with them or leave for quieter stuff. They’re really too many jerks to manage in any other way than to grow a thick skin and develop the “jerk radar” so that you can sniff them out and avoid them from afar as much as possible. The silver lining is that not all of us are jerks; just many.

One of the best way to deal with jerks is to become one…thus, increasing number of jerks.

Are you a good/average/bad IT person?