Why so many non-finance ppl interested in the CFA?

Hopefully I don’t sound offensive, but I am curious as to why so many non-finance people are very interested in taking the CFA? Possibly I’m not the best to talk since I only found out about the CFA’s existence a few months ago. However, I’ve been interested in finance/economics since I was in highschool and always wanted to be the guy doing the analysis. Ever since then I always knew id pursue a career in this field. I’ve done several interenships as an analyst. Since I started studying for the CFA, all of this material was pretty much what I wanted to brush up on anyway from college to improve myself at work and help my clients. So for me, the CFA makes a lot of sense. Just curious why so many ppl are trying to get into this field when they have no real experience. I understand career changes, etc… but I find that many people who in college wanted to get into finance, law didn’t realize just how much work it really is and how mundane and tedious it can be at times. They quickly realized that all the work wasn’t worth it. For me, I could never do this stuff unless I were generally interested. Again sorry if I sound like a jackass, but I wanna read ur responses.

Honestly… I think that a lot of people like the sound of “Chartered Financial Anlayst”. I mean let’s be real, what designation sounds better? None. Willy

Well can you think of another certification with as much weight that all you need is a Bachelors Degree and $$$.

REASONS: Cheap, easy, convenient, focused, gap-filling, challenge, etc.

i’m doing it for the girls. a charter is the next best thing to being in hollywood

^ haha…too funny

yeah… the answer used to always be “2 chicks at once”. That answer just never gets old.