Would you guys share with him? (irrelevant to CFA exams)

I have been working on the buy side for over 4 years, admittedly there’re some people with unique personality. But nobody has made me so uncomfortable as a new analyst we recently hired from an ivy league school. I have to say he is a smart guy. But he seems to like hearing his own voice too much. He would say “How are you? How’s going? How’re you doing? Are you OK? Is everything OK?” twenty times a day. But it’s not over-polite, 2 colleagues of mine already told me they think this guy is very arragont, and the respectful words coming out of his tongue don’t mean anything from his heart. By the way, we’re vice presidents, 2 levels higher than the analyst, but it’s a flat organization structure in which everyone reports to a managing director. What bothers me is whatever work he did for the boss, he save the work to his C drive, if we need to build on his work, we receive a spreadsheet which has data copied as text so no formula is there to help you check the relations between cells. Even he is doing only very simple and foundamental data mining, he cherished it as a great work and doesn’t want anybody else know how he did it, except showing you only the results. Upon his arrival, each of us were very helpful in familiarizing him with work. Each of us did some training on him to enable him to do his job. But now he’s asking each of to give him our own tools even it’s not relevant to his work. Over the 4-5 years work, we built many personal queries and wrote many customized codes to do the analysis. Among we three we usually discuss about how to do the work to great detail and share the thoughts, Bloomberg tips, VBA, C++, Matlab codes quite often. But this analyst yesterday asked each of us to send him all our codes, including a check list of all Bloomberg functions that we use, none of us feel like this is an appropriate request. Normally when one colleague is doing something and get stuck, he or she will ask