No nonsense guide to passing CAIA L2

Hey Guys,

Thought I’d write a follow up guide on passing LII following some demand after writing a LI summary; https://www.analystforum.com/forums/caia-forum/91368012

Updated background - So since i wrote the LI summary, I’ve passed CAIA LII having written it in September 2019, 1 year after passing LI (passing both comfortably on my first attempt). I’ve also passed CFA LII in June 2019 and am now working in investment research. Similar to LI, i started studying around mid-July giving me two months to prep for CAIA LII studying around 80 - 100 hours.

I won’t rehash what i’ve written before as much of LI strategy also applies to LII (regarding depth and multiple choice question strategy), so take a read of my previous post if you’d like - i’m only going to focus on the written component.

LII Format Strategy;

70% Multiple choice

30% Written (10% ethics, 10% CIT & 10% something else)

The multiple choice strategy is the same as before - just learn the content and practice via a Qbank (i used Uppermark). In terms of the written component, i personally found it quite daunting initially but fortunately, greatly overestimated the level of difficulty. This was largely due to the description and lack of context provided by CAIA Association about how the written component will be tested. So it’s described as an ‘essay format’ which implies you need to both memorise a significant amount of information and write a considerable amount, however this is completely false. The extended response questions in the real exam mirror the mock exam, such that they can be sufficiently answered between 1 - 4 sentences (in contrast to CFA LIII which requires paragraphs of writing). There is absolutely no time crunch whatsoever, so there’s no need to stress about it.

10% Ethics;